23 years is a long time to wait between title games, but for the first time in the playoff era the Mitchell Kernels are 11AA champions.

The story coming into the game was simple. It would be a heavy rushing attack from Mitchell and Harrisburg. Mitchell not only ran all over the field, but they held Harrisburg to just 138 rushing yards and forced Harrisburg quarterback Hunter Headlee to throw four interceptions. The recipe was there as the Kernels won their first 11AA Championship with a 41-6 win.

Spencer Neugebauer rushed for 240 yards and three touchdowns. His night put him well over 2000 yards for the season and 42 total touchdowns. Defensively he also notched an interception. He was named the MVP of the contest.

Harrisburg was led by Headlee's 48 yards rushing and 76 passing yards. Jack Anderson rushed for 64 yards on 24 carries. The Tigers' Michael Curry finished with 12 tackles, a blocked punt, and a fumble recovery for a touchdown.

Mitchell finished the season with a 11-1 overall record, while Harrisburg ends the year 9-3.

More From KXRB