You Can Legally Go 5 MPH Over the Speed Limit in Minnesota, Right?
If you live and drive in Minnesota, chances are, you abide by the "5 MPH Over" rule. Generally, the rule of thumb is that if you happen to be going between 1-5 MPH over the designated speed limit, you won't get a ticket, even if you pass a cop while doing so. But is that accurate?
Is it Legal to Drive 5 MPH Over the Speed Limit in Minnesota?
While the 5 MPH rule of thumb is generally accepted in Minnesota,, it's not the law. You can most definitely still get a ticket if you're traveling between 1-5 MPH over the speed limit in the Land of Ten Thousand Lakes.
Case and Point: All you have to do is look at this Minnesota state law, which states that anyone traveling between 1-10 MPH over the designated speed limit, could be subjected to a fine of $125.00.
However, Minnesota is one of only a few states in the U.S. where it is, in fact, legal to surpass the speed limit while passing on the highway or interstate, as this article from Direct Auto clearly shows.
Some states allow drivers to speed when passing slow vehicles. But, how fast can you go over the speed limit? It varies, but sometimes, when overtaking another car, you are allowed to exceed the speed limit by 10-15 mph. Typically, this applies to two-lane highways where the posted speed limit is 55 mph or higher. Some states that allow this are Idaho, Wyoming, Minnesota, and Washington.
-Direct Auto Website