Can You Legally Drive 6 MPH Over the Speed Limit in South Dakota?
Even though the speed limit is 80 MPH on interstate highways in South Dakota, from time to time, you may find yourself going a smidge over. The general rule of thumb for most drivers is the 5 MPH guideline. If you're going somewhere between 80 and 85 MPH on the interstate, most are of the belief that you'll likely be sparred from getting pulled over by a South Dakota State Trooper.
Let's face it, no matter what the speed limit is, you'll always find a number of drivers stepping over the line. We all know that if the Highway Patrol catches you going even 10 MPH over the limit, you're likely getting a ticket. But what about 6 MPH?
Can You Get a Ticket For Going 6 MPH Over the Speed Limit in South Dakota?
The Driving Laws Website has a breakdown of what you can get a ticket for in each of the 50 states. Here's what it looks like for South Dakota:
Costs of a Speeding Ticket
Speeding is a class 2 misdemeanor in South Dakota. For a violation, the driver will have to pay a fine plus court fees. Generally, the total of these two amounts is:
$87.50 for exceeding the speed limit by one to five miles per hour
$107.50 for exceeding the speed limit by six to ten miles per hour
$127.50 for exceeding the speed limit by 11 to 15 miles per hour
$147.50 for exceeding the speed limit by 16 to 20 miles per hour
$167.50 for exceeding the speed limit by 21 to 25 miles per hour, and
$222.50 for exceeding the speed limit by at least 26 miles per hour.
-South Dakota Driving Laws Website
As you can see, and despite the rule of thumb, you can get a ticket for $87.50 if you're clocked at going even 1-5 MPH over the speed limit in South Dakota. So, if that's the case, going 6 MPH over will almost certainly get you a ticket.
To see the full article on speeding and ticketing laws in South Dakota from the Driving Laws Website, click here.