Sunday's NASCAR race got down to the final laps for an exciting finish. Plus the field in the Playoffs for the Championship got narrowed down to 12 drivers from 16.

Kyle Busch, running the top line, chased down leader Chase Elliott at Dover International Speedway and passed him with two laps to go. Busch claims his second straight Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory.

Elliott was denied his first win in the series. Ryan Newman, in an attempt to stay on the lead lap and avoid Playoff elimination, slowed Elliott, which was an advantage for Busch ultimately.

Jimmie Johnson, the driver with the most wins at this track, came in third. The driver who started on the pole, Martin Truex Jr., came in fourth and remains the series leader.

Kyle Larson, coming off a second place finish the race before, was fifth. See where your driver came in.

The following drivers advanced to the Round of 12, with seeding and points after Dover:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.: 3,059 points
  2. Kyle Busch: 3,041 points
  3. Kyle Larson: 3,034 points
  4. Brad Keselowski: 3,020 points
  5. Jimmie Johnson: 3,017 points
  6. Kevin Harvick: 3,015 points
  7. Denny Hamlin: 3,013 points
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: 3,010 points
  9. Ryan Blaney: 3,008 points
  10. Chase Elliott: 3,006 points
  11. Matt Kenseth: 3,005 points
  12. Jamie McMurray: 3,003 points


See Also:

More From KXRB