Jessi Colter has announced the release of her first album in over a decade. The Psalms, set for release in March, contains the artist's musical interpretations of the Bible's Book of Psalms.

The Psalms was recorded in 2007 and 2008 at Manhattan's Dubway Studios. Colter sings and plays piano on the project, and Lenny Kaye -- who co-wrote a book about Colter's late husband, Waylon Jennings, that was released in 2012 -- is featured on electric and acoustic guitar.

“One morning in 1995, while working with Waylon Jennings on his autobiography in Nashville, I came into the living room to find Jessi Colter at the piano, singing the Psalms. She would place her fingers on the keys, forming simple chords and expressing melodies as they came to her," Kaye writes in The Psalms' liner notes (quote via Yahoo! Finance). "There was no forethought, no conception of composition; only the intuitive expression of the spirituality behind these most ancient of sacred poems, the divinity they wellspring within each of us. I listened transfixed while she paged through the Old Testament, choosing each Psalm, finding within them the emotive voice of the Shepherd Boy, the Warrior, ultimately the King that is David. It was one of the most beautiful expressions of belief I had ever witnessed."

According to Kaye, when he and Colter began recording The Psalms, it was without having rehearsed; rather, they simply selected a passage and got to work.

"She sat behind the keyboard, gathered herself, and then began to sing. There were one, perhaps two takes of each. Sometimes I accompanied her on guitar," Kaye recalls. "Over the years I decorated them with chosen musicians, careful not to disturb their intimacy or their moment of improvised creation and inspiration.”

The Psalms, Colter's 15th studio album, is set for release on March 24. The singer is also set to share her autobiography, An Outlaw and a Lady: A Memoir of Music, Life With Waylon, and the Faith that Brought Me Home, on April 11.

The Psalms is available for pre-order via iTunes and Amazon.

Jessi Colter, The Psalms Track Listing:

1. "PSALM 150 Praise Ye the Lord"
2. "PSALM 75 Unto Thee"
3. "PSALM 114 And the Mountains Skip Like Rams"
4. "PSALM 99 He Is Holy"
5. "PSALM 24 Who Is the King of Glory"
6. "PSALM 136 Mercy and Loving Kindness"
7. "PSALM 151 King David’s Last Psalm"
8. "PSALM 21 Be Thou Exalted"
9. "PSALM 45 My Song to a King"
10. "PSALM 73 Like a Beast"
11. "PSALM 23 The Lord Is My Shepherd"
12. "PSALM 72 Arise O King of Old"

More New Albums Coming in 2017

More From KXRB