What should have been a double, turned out to be called an out as a result of a horrible call made by an umpire in game six of the 2019 World Series between the Washington Nationals and the Houston Astros.

Before we get into the details, look at the play, plus get input from some of the greatest baseball players in the business, let's all agree that this could have cost a team the World Series. But in the end, the call have no impact on the outcome of the game, which is a good thing. Had the Nationals lost, it would have been the biggest robbery to take place in a World Series.

Here's what happened: Trea Turner hit a ground ball, ran straight to first base, and as he was moving directly toward the bag with both feet off the ground, the first baseman stuck his glove in front of him and got his glove knocked off.

With the ball on the ground, Turner advanced to second base where he should have been on base with a double. However, the first base umpire made a judgement call of the base runner interfering with the play. The call was completely wrong.

I'm fine with wrong calls being made, as long as they can be reviewed and properly ruled on. But a judgement call can't be reviewed. That's where this wrong call becomes a horribly bad call.

I classify it that way because this call was in no way shape or form an interpretation of the rules. It was strictly a judgement call, which has no place in a World Series. As far as the rules of the game are concerned, a base runner has the right to charge the base if he's going straight on the base line at the bag.

Let's watch the play and hear from the pros on these videos starting with Joe Torre and his wrong comments:

More From KXRB