Sioux Falls Jefferson High School has another reason to be very proud this week. According to Dakota News Now, George Hawkins is the new Sioux Falls Teacher of the Year and the winner of the annual Dr. John Harris award.

Hawkins is the American Experience, AP Government and Dual Credit Government teacher at the Project Based Learning Academy at Jefferson High School.

Hawkins was described by coworkers as "engaging" and innovative and also,

He is always trying to get to know his students and pushing them to grow as a person. Friends and I would sit with him at lunch and talk about our lives in what we called the ‘Hawkins Circle.’ George Hawkins left a successful career practicing law to dedicate himself to the service and education of today’s youth. He desires to grow and inspire others through education

Vern Eide Motorcars which co-sponsors the award every year presented Mr. Hawkins with a $4,000 check.

The other 2023 Teacher of the Year finalists were:

  • Kim Bogart, Terry Redlin, Laura B. Anderson, and Whittier MS – Orchestra Teacher
  • Tammy Ramstad, Hayward Elementary – Kindergarten Teacher
  • Nicole Schilmoeller, Ben Reifel Middle School – Reading Interventions Teacher Jason Stahlberg, Washington High School – AP US History and Sociology Teacher

There were 68 nominees for Teacher of the Year in 2023, the 35th year of the program.

SEE: Sioux Falls New Jefferson High School


More From KXRB