(AP) - Governor Dennis Daugaard (DOO'-gahrd) has recognized eight Wheat Growers locations for superior safety performance.

The Carpenter, Huron Fertilizer and Grain, Kennebec, Miller, Aberdeen's West Terminal, Willow Lake, Woonsocket and Yale grain and agronomy cooperative locations recently received meritorious achievement awards at the South Dakota Safety and Health Conference Governor's Safety Awards luncheon in Sioux Falls.

Employers submit workplace injury data that is compared with state and national data and the entrant's past performance. Ongoing safety programs and activities are also considered.

Vice president of safety, environmental and regulatory affairs Bill Spreeman says it's especially fitting that the locations receive the awards heading into harvest.