Contact Us

Unfriending Can Ruin Friendships

Facebook
Justin Sullivan, Getty Images

As we enjoy the high tech life with our cool devices, we must also remember that we are connected yes, but it’s still human beings that we are connected to. And those human beings have feelings no matter what the device is they are holding.

If you ‘unfriend’ someone on Facebook, beware! You could lose that person’s real-life friendship, too.

Not too many years ago, if you said you were going to unfriend someone, it pretty much meant you were going to make an enemy right? Now it’s just a social media fuction, or is it?

A study was done to find out just what happens in the real world around you. Researchers from the University of Colorado discovered that fully 40 percent of those surveyed say they would avoid real-life contact with someone who unfriended them on Facebook.

And women are more likely than men to avoid those who unfriend them. ‘People think social networks are just for fun, however, what you do on those sites can have real-world consequences,’ says study author Christopher Sibona, who arrived at his conclusions after receiving 600 responses to a survey he posted on Twitter.

Specifically, six factors predicted whether people would avoid a person who unfriended them:

1) If the person who did the unfriending discussed the event later.
2) If the unfriended person had an extremely negative emotional response.
3) If the unfriended person believed the action was because of their offline behavior.
4) If relationship trouble was discussed prior to the unfriending.
5) How strong the person valued the relationship before the unfriending.
6) The geographical distance between the two.

So you want to use caution before unfriending someone. Carefully consider the possible consequences before choosing to do it. Completely consider your relationship with that person.

More Local News

Latest Country Music News

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://kxrb.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on 1000 KXRB - Classic Country quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here.

Sign up for an account to comment, share your thoughts, and earn points to get great prizes.

Register on 1000 KXRB - Classic Country quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!